Houston Area Law Librarians (HALL)

2018-2019 Annual Report

The 2018-2019 HALL Officers were Colleen Manning, President; Andre Davison, Vice President/President-Elect; Chris Dykes, Immediate Past President; Katy Stein Badeaux, Secretary; Margaret Bartlett, Treasurer; Michael McHenry, Member-at Large; Lori-Ann Craig, Member-at-Large.

HALL took a larger part in organizing and arranging for funding of the DALL/HALL/SWALL/UNT reception that takes place at the AALL Annual Meeting. The website was reorganized and updated. HALL issued a renewed resolution in support of the Enactment of the Uniform Electronic Legal Material Act in the State of Texas and the Government Relations Committee worked with other organizations to support the successful enactment of the law.

To ensure that the data of HALL members is adequately protected under various new laws, the Board appointed the Data Protection Ad Hoc Committee. The Committee is charged with reviewing the current disclosures and privacy policies and proposing changes and new policy language. This Committee and charge will continue into the new fiscal year.

HALL continued to have a busy schedule with monthly educational meetings, a holiday party, a reception at the AALL Annual Meeting, and a Spring Seminar on "Cybersecurity Habits for Legal Professionals."

At the monthly meetings, various educational topics were presented, including: "Houston Stronger: Harvey One Year Later;" "From Applications to Services: Emerging Technologies and Innovation for Attorneys;" "the Robot Librarian;" and "Harris County Cash-Bail Reform." Jean Willis, AALL Treasurer, provided an AALL update at the February meeting.

Annually, HALL organizes a service project giving members an opportunity to serve the local community. The January meeting focuses on this project, encouraging members to participate. This year, our members volunteered to make breakfast bags for Meals on Wheels. The event was coordinated with Interfaith Ministries for Greater Houston, a United Way Agency. It was a great success although it ended earlier than expected due to the outstanding organization skills of the participating members.

Each year, the Board awards at least one grant to a member to travel to the annual AALL meeting. This year a \$1,000 grant was awarded to Joe Lawson. The Board also recognizes contributions to HALL that stand out as particularly meritorious each year. Mary Ann Wacker was named the Volunteer of the Year and received a \$50 gift certificate in recognition of all her efforts in support of HALL.

HALL held elections on May 8, 2019. The new 2019-2020 officers as elected are Andre Davison, President; Michael McHenry, Vice President/President-Elect; Colleen Manning, Immediate Past President; Katy Stein Badeaux, Secretary; Karen Kronenberg, Treasurer; Melinda Elder, Member-at Large; Lori-Ann Craig, Member-at-Large.