Houston Area Law Librarians (HALL) Annual Report – 2021-2022

HALL officers for 2021-2022 were: Sabrina A. Davis, President; Rachel Lyles, Vice President/President-Elect; Lori-Ann Craig, Secretary; Karen Kronenberg, Treasurer; Jonathan Briggs, Member-at-Large; Laura Edstrom, Member-at-Large; and Michael McHenry, Immediate Past President.

HALL conducted seven member meetings and four Executive Board meetings during the 2021-2022 membership year, all of which were conducted virtually via Zoom. In addition, the chapter held a virtual HALLiday party in December 2021 and co-sponsored the SWALL/HALL Joint Annual Meeting in mid-April 2022. The latter was a hybrid event which took place both virtually and in Sugar Land, TX.

HALL added to its social media presence on Facebook by creating a Twitter account in September 2021, which was maintained by the Public Relations Committee. The Website Committee began reorganizing the HALL website in anticipation of a complete redesign in Summer/Fall 2022, with the goal of incorporating responsive design as well as rebranding in accordance with AALL branding guidelines.

The Executive Board and the Bylaws Committee began a comprehensive review and update of the HALL Bylaws and HALL Procedures Manual. This process will continue during the 2022-2023 membership year.

The Scholarships and Grants Committee investigated and drafted guidelines for scholarships to offer to library school students who take a course focused on law librarianship. Two such scholarships will be offered by HALL in Fall 2022. In addition, based on the recommendation of this committee, the HALL Executive Board named Amanda Hildebrand as its AALL Annual Conference Grant recipient.

Each year, the Executive Board names a Volunteer of the Year for HALL. This year's recipient was David Baker, for his efforts with the new HALL Twitter account and amount of work he put into the SWALL/HALL Joint Annual Meeting.

HALL held elections on May 11, 2022. The new officers for 2022-2023 are: Rachel Lyles, President; David Baker, Vice President/President-Elect; Lori-Ann Craig, Secretary; Laura Edstrom, Treasurer; Amanda Hildebrand, Member-at-Large; Debra Jobes, Member-at-Large; and Sabrina A. Davis, Immediate Past President.