Houston Area Law Librarians (HALL) 2020-2021 Annual Report

The 2020-2021 HALL Officers were:

President: Michael McHenry

Vice President/President-Elect: Sabrina Davis

Secretary: Trisha Petitt

Treasurer: Karen Kronenberg

Members-At-Large: Melinda Elder and Jonathan Briggs

Immediate Past President: Andre Davison

Due to the COVID-19 Pandemic, HALL conducted all of its monthly meetings virtually through a new Zoom account created in the summer of 2020.

Educational programs included:

- * Creating Technology Training Courses and Programs for Attorneys
- * Work Smarter with Mind-Body Techniques to Reduce Stress
- * Judge Jeremy Brown on Justice of the Peace Courts
- * Authors of Shortlisted: Women in the Shadows of the Supreme Court
- * Marketing with a Purpose: Hits, Misses and Lessons Learned
- * Court Trials During COVID-19 with Marcy Rothman

In addition to these meetings, we had a virtual visit from AALL President Emily Florio in February, our annual HALL-iday Party in December, and a two-part HALL Spring Institute focused on diversity.

Under the leadership of Sabrina Davis, HALL transitioned its quarterly newsletter to a blog and renamed it HALLmarks.

The Board recognizes contributions to HALL that stand out as particularly meritorious each year. Andrew Bennett was named the Volunteer of the Year and received a \$50 gift certificate in recognition of all his efforts in support of HALL.

The Board passed a resolution in January in support of the rededication of the Harris County Law Library in honor of Robert W. Hainsworth.

In June 2020, the Board issued a statement in support for those affected by racism and inequality.

And in May 2021, the Board voted to co-sign a Statement on Anti-Asian Incidents that was drafted by the Asian-American Law Librarians Caucus of AALL.

Our Annual HALL business meeting was held virtually via Zoom on May 12, 2021. The new 2021-2022 officers elected were:

President: Sabrina Davis

Vice President/President-Elect: Rachel Lyles

Secretary: Lori-Ann Craig Treasurer: Karen Kronenberg

Members-At-Large: Jonathan Briggs and Laura Edstrom

Immediate Past President: Michael McHenry